Speakers Profile - Baroness Susan Greenfield

Travels From:
Europe & UK

Fee Range: E

Susan Greenfield is Professor of Pharmacology at Oxford University, a neuroscientist, writer, and broadcaster. She has been awarded 30 Honorary Degrees from British and foreign universities and heads a multi-disciplinary research group exploring novel brain mechanisms linked to neurodegenerative diseases such Alzheimer's and Parkinson's.

In addition, she has published a neuroscientific theory of consciousness,'The Private Life of the Brain' (2003) and developed a keen interest in the impact of modern technologies on how young people think and feel. This was discussed in her book, 'ID: The Quest for Identity in the 21st Century' (2008).

In 1998 she received the Michael Faraday Medal from the Royal Society, was awarded a CBE in the Millennium New Year's Honours List and was granted a non-political Life Peerage in 2001.

In 2000 she was elected to an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians and in 2007 to an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. She was appointed Chancellor of Heriot Watt University in 2005.

Further recognition of her work includes L'Ordre National de la L�gion d'Honneur from the French Government, and the American Academy of Achievement Golden Plate Award, both received in 2003. Susan was also awarded the Australian Medical Research Society Medal in 2010.

In 2011, Susan joined the Advisory Board of the Kusuma School of Biological Sciences at the Indian Institute for Technology, Delhi.

In 2012, Susan was offered the Honorary Fellowship of the Institute of Risk Management and also became a Vice Patron of POWER International. Further on in 2012, Susan was selected to serve as the Parliamentary Patron of the Westminster Higher Education Forum, alongside of continuing to be a Parliamentary Patron of the Westminster Education Forum.

Continuing through 2012, Susan bacame a Governor of The Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health and also started to suport the IAB (the International Advisory Board).